Former world No. 1s Kim Clijsters and Andy Roddick have been elected to receive the highest honor in tennis – induction into the International Tennis Hall of Fame. Joining them in the Hall of Fame Class of 2017 will be Monique Kalkman-van den Bosch, a 4-time Paralympic medalist in wheelchair tennis, being honored for her remarkable career. Additionally, two individuals will be inducted in the Contributor Category. Steve Flink, a distinguished tennis historian and journalist has been elected for induction.

Vic Braden, a groundbreaking tennis instructor who was among the first to apply sports science to his instructional tactics will be inducted posthumously. 

Andy Roddick, Monique Kalkman-van den Bosch, and Steve Flink will take part in a special ceremony on court at the Australian Open on Tuesday evening to celebrate their induction for the very first time.

More than 20 Hall of Fame tennis legends will gather on court at Rod Laver Arena at the Australian Open to officially welcome the Class of 2017. Among those slated to participate are Rod Laver, Margaret Court, Ken Rosewall, Pat Rafter, Stan Smith, Lindsay Davenport, John McEnore, and many more.

Of the honor, Roddick stated, it's really special. I love this sport and I love being part of it. I’m moved to know that my presence in the sport will be forever part of tennis history, and I am just incredibly honored to be inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame. I look forward to the induction ceremony in Newport in July.

Clijsters was unable to travel to the festivities in Melbourne, as she recently gave birth to her third child. However, the 2011 Australian Open champion will be recognized via video sent to the arena. Of the induction honor, she stated, “I feel very, very honored to be inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame. It is a huge honor to be amongst a list of so many great tennis players who I admired when I was growing up, and some great players who I played with in my tennis career as well.

International Tennis Hall of Fame President and 1987 Hall of Famer Stan Smith stated, it's a real pleasure to welcome these five remarkable individuals into the Hall of Fame. Kim, Andy, and Monique compiled outstanding careers, winning the game's biggest titles and ascending to the world No. 1 ranking. Steve's lifelong dedication to chronicling the sport's happenings and history has engaged and educated fans around the world. And, of course, we remember Vic Braden, who transformed how tennis is taught and how athletes are developed. I'm very pleased to congratulate the International Tennis Hall of Fame Class of 2017 and we look forward to celebrating them in Newport in July, and forever as Hall of Famers.

The Class of 2017 will be officially inducted on July 22, during Rolex Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend at the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, Rhode Island. In addition, the class will be celebrated in a tribute exhibit opening in June in the Museum at the International Tennis Hall of Fame, which will be displayed for one year.

About the Induction Process

Nominees for Hall of Fame induction are selected from nominations submitted by the general public and tennis community. The ITHF Enshrinee Nominating Committee, which meets annually in June, then reviews all nominations and determines the ballot. The committee is comprised of 23 individuals from around the world with expertise in various areas of the sport. Individuals can be nominated in three categories - Recent Player, Master Player, and Contributor. There are no nominees in the Master Player Category this year.

The Recent Player Voting Group, which consists of tennis media and Hall of Famers, votes on the Recent Player nominees. The Master Player & Contributor Voting Group, which consists of historians, Hall of Famers, and individuals who are highly knowledgeable of the sport and its history, vote on the Master Player nominees. To be inducted in either category, an affirmative vote of 75% of returned ballots is required. Votes are tallied by an independent accounting firm.  For additional information, please visit

Read more about the Class of 2017 >>

Save up to 20% off your tickets and Advance Your Experience >>