Youngest Champion

 Greg Rusedski (GBR) –  19 years, 6 months, and 11 days

Oldest Champion
Fabrice Santoro (FRA) – 36 years old

Only two left-handed players have won the Hall of Fame Tennis Championships
Tom Gullikson (USA) 1985
Greg Rusedski (GBR)   2005, 2004, 1993


Championship Sweep!

Only four players have claimed both singles and doubles titles at this grass-court event.  Lleyton Hewitt in 2015 (w/ Chris Guccione), Nicolas Mahut in 2013 (w/ Roger-Vasselin), Ram in 2009 (w/ Kerr), Dan Goldie in 1987 (w/ Scott) and John Fitzgerald in 1983 (w/ Amritraj).

The Legend of the Casino Curse - A Curse No More! 
In 1976, the Newport tournament was designated an exhibition tournament with a 16-player


draw. No. 1 seed Vijay Amritraj  won this event.  In 1977, Newport became an official stop on the ATP World Tour with a full 32-player draw. From 1977 through 2010, the No. 1 seed never won the title, a dismal statistic that became known as the "Casino Curse."  In 2011, American John Isner entered the event as a wild card and became the No. 1 seed. In the final, Isner defeated Belgium’s Olivier Rochus to win the title and break the curse once and for all. Isner returned to successfully defend the title in 2012 - he is one of 5 players to have won the title more than once (also, Fabrice Santoro, Greg Rusedski, Bryan Shelton, Vijay Amritraj).

Lucky Loser
Rajeev Ram (USA) is the only player to win the Hall of Fame Tennis Championships as a lucky loser. Ram defeated Sam Querrey (USA) in the 2009 final 6-7(3), 7-5, 6-3. Ram gained entry into the main draw when No. 1 seed Mardy Fish was called into action for the United States Davis Cup team.

Champions' Rankings
John Isner (USA) had the highest ranking of all the tournament champions when he won in 2012 at the ranking of world No. 11.
Mark Philippoussis (AUS) was the lowest ranked player to ever win the Newport tournament. He was ranked No. 214 in 2006 and gained entry to the tournament through a wild card.

Winning Wildcards
In the tournament's history, THREE wildcards have won the title, Nicholas Mahut (France) in 2013, John Isner (USA) in 2011 and Mark Philippoussis (AUS) in 2006.

Youngest EVER

Speaking of 2013 Stefan Kozlov (USA) made his ATP World Tour debut as a Wild Card in the main draw of the Hall of Fame Tennis Championships.  At 15 years old he was the youngest player to ever enter the draw here in Newport. 

Qualifiers Making Stunning Runs to the Semis
Three qualifiers have reached the tournament semifinals:  Neil Borwick (AUS, 1992), Richard Bloomfield (GBR, 2010), and Michael Yani (USA, 2011).

Seeing Double!
Two sets of identical twins have won doubles titles in Newport: Bob and Mike Bryan (USA, 2002, 2001) and Tim and Tom Gullikson (USA, 1978).

Fun with the Fans
The highest attended year at the Hall of Fame Tennis Championships was in 2012 when 23,152 passed through the Hall of Fame’s doors.